Record Locking

Soffront CRM introduces record locking feature to help the users work with the CRM more efficiently.  This would prevent multiple users form accidentally updating the same record simultaneously causing at-least one of the updates to be lost.

What record Lock does is, it locks a record for a certain period of time if it is already being used by a user in “Edit” mode. If any other user tries to open the record at the same time the system displays a pop-up message saying the particular record is being used by any other user.

The Administrator users can do the following:

  1. Enable/Disable the feature.
  2. Configure the time to keep the object in locked status.
  3. Unlock the object if it is locked by someone.

In order to do the above mentioned pointers follow the steps below:

  1. Click on Setup under Links from the home page.



2. Go to System Setup > Record Lock from the left navigation panel as shown in the image below:

3. The record lock options will appear on the screen as shown in the image below:

The settings are:

  • Enable Record Locking: Select Enable or Disable from the drop down.
  • Lock Period (In Minutes): Select the time in minutes for how long you want to keep the record as locked. The minimum value is 5 minutes and the maximum value is 60 minutes.
  • Available tables: Select the tables form the Available Tables list which you want to lock and click Add->. You can also click Add All -> to select all the tables.
  • Accessible Tables: The list of tables that you have selected from the Available Tables list. Select one table and click <-Remove to delete a table from this list. You can also click <-Remove All to delete all the tables from the list.
  • Save: Click Save to make the changes effective.
  • Unlock Records: Click to unlock the records which are already locked. After clicking a new tab will appear displaying all the locked records as shown in the image below:

  • You can filter by the type of records which you want to display. For e.g. – Payment, EmailRes, etc.
  • Click Release All to release all the records.
  • Click Release Selected to release particular records which you have selected.